The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

Another 98 Grand Voyager Mystery Overheating Problem (HELP!!!)

25K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  mistypotato 
#1 ·
I’ve been working on my sister-in-law’s 98 Plymouth Grand Voyager (3.3L) I have some experience with this engine as my 91 voyager has over 300K miles on it. The van is overheating (indicated), and I suspect it’s just an indication problem. My Autoxray scanner indicates temps as high as 260, but there is no sign in the engine compartment that anything is wrong (boiling over, smoke, fire etc …. I’ve tried everything, but nothing seems to make a difference. Thanks to all of you who have posted to other mystery overheating problem threads; I’ve tried all your ideas … still no love. Here are the actions I’ve taken to date:

1. Removed thermostat to see if it was stuck closed … no difference. Upper radiator hose is hot w/ or w/ out the T-stat installed.

2. Pulled and inspected the radiator; can’t see any problems with it. Water flow is good.

3. Pulled the water pump to see if the impeller was spinning on the shaft; no issues there either. But, I may be experiencing low flow due to the shabby aftermarket impeller design or wear or both. It's an aftermarket pump.

4. Changed all cooling system hoses (some were original equipment); refilled system with cap removed. T-stat opens at 195 deg F and it’s obvious water is flowing through the radiator.

5. Replaced fan relay module; fan’s were running backward. Fans are fine now and speed increases to 100% at coolant temp hits 230 (per the Chrysler spec sheet I downloaded).

6. Replaced the radiator cap; it was leaking. Changing the cap allowed me to drive a little farther than before (now that the cooling system can pressurize), but the temp gauge eventually went psycho. Had to turn the heaters on to drop the temp.

7. Changed out the temp sensor (was reading low resistance); no change.