Replaced alternator, now engine won't start

ChryslerMiniVan.net is the premier Chrysler Minivan Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Replaced alternator, now engine won't start

Thanks

Unhappy Replaced alternator, now engine won't start

2003 T&C 3.3 Flex Fuel. Bad noise from the decoupler pulley on the alternator. Decided to get a rebuilt alternator from NAPA. Just got it put on, and now the engine won't start.

I followed the Haynes manual with removing negative battery cable. Removed the belt then the electrical connectors. I swear I touched nothing else. Engine started and ran fine on the old alternator, just noisy. Now it cranks, but won't fire. NAPA says it can't be a bad alternator if it's cranking. Is he blowing smoke?

I'm scratching my head. Any thoughts? I'm not a mechanic but have replaced a few alternators in my day, but nothing like this ever happened.

--Randy

2. Remove Advertisements
    Chrysler Minivan Forums
    Advertisements

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by rmaxey View Post
    2003 T&C 3.3 Flex Fuel. Bad noise from the decoupler pulley on the alternator. Decided to get a rebuilt alternator from NAPA. Just got it put on, and now the engine won't start.

I followed the Haynes manual with removing negative battery cable. Removed the belt then the electrical connectors. I swear I touched nothing else. Engine started and ran fine on the old alternator, just noisy. Now it cranks, but won't fire. NAPA says it can't be a bad alternator if it's cranking. Is he blowing smoke?

I'm scratching my head. Any thoughts? I'm not a mechanic but have replaced a few alternators in my day, but nothing like this ever happened.

--Randy