The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

Transmission Fluid Change

21K views 72 replies 18 participants last post by  el conquistador 
#1 ·
Does anyone know of a link that has transmission fluid change pics for a 3rd generation?

I have searched on here and everything is a written procedure. I also have the service manual, but I prefer a writeup.

I see a writeup for the 4th generation on here, but I am not sure if it is the same.

Just asking because I have never done this before. I have gone quite far in other areas though.

Thanks

#2 ·
since the transmissions are the same from gen1, gen2, gen3, gen4, seems you could use the same proceedures.

Here's the Cliff's notes version:

Option 1
drain fluid by removing pan
remove filter
install new filter
install pan
fill to correct level

Option 2.
Drive to service station,
wait,
pay,
drive home

#3 ·
since the transmissions are the same from gen1, gen2, gen3, gen4, seems you could use the same proceedures.

Here's the Cliff's notes version:

Option 1
drain fluid by removing pan
remove filter
install new filter
install pan
fill to correct level
It seems like a pretty intimidating job, but it's really straight foreward. It seriously is just that easy. Important notes:
1. Use a large drain pan. (I used a rubbermaid container)
2. Tighten the pan bolts in a staggered pattern (do not overtighten)
3. Make sure you use the correct fluid (ATF+4)

#4 ·
Thanks all...and I like the humor too!

I recall reading something about an O-ring too. That is freaking me out!

Lol

#5 ·
ya the 1st time my gf wanted me to use an 0-ring i freakd out too now i like using em; but really whats got u freaked? d u no what an 0-ring is?

#7 ·
I assume the O-ring will be for the filter. There should be one in the box with the new filter when you get it. Remember to coat the O-ring in trans fluid before fitting it.

#9 ·
Thanks all!