Why wont this start?

ChryslerMiniVan.net is the premier Chrysler Minivan Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Why wont this start?

Thanks

Why wont this start?

I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm pretty much at a loss. I have a 1995 plymouth voyager w/ 3.0 liter and about 115k on the clock. It was running perfect until recently when it died without warning in my garage. I can crank and crank without so much as a sputter. I can still hear the fuel pump and fuel is making it to the engine. The fuses and relays seem to check out just fine. When I sprayed starter fluid in the intake it fire right up (not well but still turned over) then died. I also did the key dance thing with code #'s 12 and 37 coming up. I understand the 12 but the 37 doesn't make sense to me. I'm somewhat of a novice mechanic but willing to try just about anything, and any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Eric

2. Remove Advertisements
    Chrysler Minivan Forums
    Advertisements

Thanks

Chrysler Fault Code 37: baro-read solenoid open or shorted

For turbocharged engines, code 37 will be triggered when the baro-read solenoid circuit is open or shorted.

For normally aspirated (non turbo) engines with automatic transmissions, code 37 will be triggered when the Part Throttle Unlock (PTU) solenoid circuit is open or shorted.

For normally aspirated cars with manual transmissions, code 37 is sometimes set for no apparent reason.
    Something to do with the torque converter lock up...Check for spark. Pull the wires off the plugs one at a time, put a screw driver in the wire then lay it where the screw driver is close to something metal and grounded. Have someone try to start it and see if a spark arcs from the screw driver to the grounded metal (valve cover, etc.) You can do the same thing at the wire/distributor instead of at the wire/plug to rule out a bad wire if that problem ever arises.