Grand caravan SXT towing question [Archive] - The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums

: Grand caravan SXT towing question

bulldogz
05-28-2006, 12:09 PM
hello all,

new to the forum. I am thinking of buying a travel trailer for the summer and have a question about the towing.

I have a Grand caravan SXT but at the time of purchase last year , did not purchase the Option tow package at the dealer. I understand with the tow package, I would have been able to tow 3800lbs.

Without the tow package, what will I be able to tow??? Could I purchase an after market tow package? I am also new to towing and the trailers as well.

wireman
05-28-2006, 12:19 PM
I have an 01 GC sport and tow a 2000 lb popup. I added air lift, electric brakes, and a class 3 receiver. Pulls well and importantly stops very well. Have had no problems.

blupupher
05-28-2006, 03:04 PM
One of the big things the tow package gives you is an additional auto tranny cooler. That and I think the Nivomat suspension.

sellinghomes4u
05-29-2006, 08:12 AM
Look in the owners manual and use half what they tell you. I haveh 2 vans with tow group a 99 & 03 and I would NEVER tow what the book says is the limit. Even my little 14' fishing yacht total weight in 1200 lbs range puts quite a strain on them. My buddy had a 2000 GC sport with 3.3 and no tow group and yanked a 17' Bayliner all over the place loaded with gear, family etc. He said it was great but I rode in it a few times and I'll tell you that van GROANED and strained it's guts out. IMO it was a dangerous thing. But than he's from Europe and they tow horse trailers with tiny little vehicles. WAY scary to see.

Hokiefyd
05-29-2006, 12:23 PM